Past and Present

The Royal High School Club in London was formed in 1888. It fell into abeyance during the First World War then started up again in 1920. Today the Club is in regular contact with around 100 former pupils of the school who live in London and the South of England. The Club also maintains close ties with the school in Edinburgh and funds three prizes which are awarded annually at the prize-giving ceremony: Dux in Art & Design, Dux in Technological Design and the Prize for an English Poem. The Club in London is growing steadily and we are planning to add to our current programme of events: the Annual Dinner and the Pre-Xmas Drinks Party. Your Committee is delighted to receive ideas or suggestions for further activities. If you know of any High School former pupils living and working in London or the South of England, why not tell them about us? Or better still – bring them along to the next Club event! If you are not already a member, why not talk to our Treasurer, Alex Prentice, about organising a standing order to make sure that your annual subscription reaches us without fuss or bother.

Club contact details:

  • Secretary and Treasurer: Alex Prentice
  • Email:
Vivas Schola Regia!

Presidents since 1960:

Those named below have served as President of the Club (current members’ names are shown in bold type with year of leaving school).
1960 Burleigh Binnie      1979 Ian G Gilbert 1943
1961 J A C Manson   1980 Bruce Banister
1962 J O Johnston   1981 Sir Gordon Manzie KCB
1963 D C Cousland   1982 Sir Stanley Fingland KCMG
1964 A L Shearer   1983 Robert D Dewar
1965 T D Dobson MBE   1984 Alan J E Rose 1949
1966 C W Cousland   1985 J B McKellar
1967 Sir George Gunn   1986 V S White
1968 Wg. Cdr J Moffat   1988 Sir Gordon Manzie KCB
1969 Dr J Park   1990 Alastair M Maclean 1960
1970 J Y Orr   1992 Ian Duncan
1971 G Dick Jamie   1994 James H Randell
1972 Jim C Rowan   1996 Jeffrey T Robertson 1950
1973 Peter J C Matheson   1998 Wg. Cdr. Alan Robertson 1951
1974 Cliff W Adam   2001 Janette Scantlebury 1981
1975 Dan C Logan   2004 Simon Card OBE 1967
1976 R S Anderson   2008 Al Senter 1971
1977 Ken H Lambert   2011 Valerie Peay 1985
1978 Bert J Davis   2014 Fraser Wright 1985
2017 Paul Fleming 2003   2023 Richard Steedman 1981
In recent years the President’s term of office has lengthened to cover a few years. In these cases only the starting date is shown